An introduction.

Hey friend!

It's been nice sharing my work with you, but I figured an introduction wouldn't hurt!

I'm Lente, that means 'Spring' in Dutch :) I'm 22 years old and live in The Netherlands.

I grew up here, on a ship that my parents bought in 1995.

This spot is what we called the 'Zomerplek' or 'Summer spot'. This is because for winter, we would move to the harbor in town centre.

It was in the middle of nature. For electricity, we had a generator on land that we would turn on whenever we needed it.

These moments were also when me and me brother could play on the laptop. We would play cd-rom games, or flash games.

For drinking water, we had these Bar-le-Duc cartons that we would fill up at the marina on the opposite side of the river.

For all of our other water: for doing the dishes or taking showers, I believe we had a filtration system, to take water from the river!

I had an amazing time here as a kid. I played outside a TON.

To go to school, or anywhere really, we had smaller boats to cross the river and get into town :)

Me and my brother on boat

I lived here until around 2009/2010 (I was 9/10 years old).

Unfortunately, the town municipality forced us away from this spot.

My parents started a long lasting lawsuit that they won after 5 years. For them, it wasn't easy, financially. Fortunately as a kid I din't notice much from this.

Although I do still miss that old spot in nature to this day.

The municipality had to give us a new spot somewhere else, and things have been better since :)


It was here where I started getting into Game Development.

I started out with making little clicker games in Python, and later in HTML and JavaScript.

First game code
First game in HTML

When on a vacation with the family in Belgium, the rental house had this funny looking teddy bear that my brother and I decided to give a name, Bert.

This is where I first tried Unity (together with JavaScript at the time), and made this little project together with my brother. He made the art in paint! pretty good I would say!

First game in Unity

Sometime after, I made a bigger project. This time for mobile, Android!

I seemed to have a thing for clicker games at this time.

I actually released this game on the Play Store, and managed to get around $60 in ad revenue! that was really cool :)

First game published to the Play Store

Bert 2! a sequel to the first Bert game. We started working on this when we were in the same rental house, a year later! (we liked to go the same places every year)

It's pretty much a Call of Duty: Zombies clone, with Bert as the main character and evil honey pots invading the house (he is having a nightmare lol)

My brother remade the whole rental house in Blender! It was so much fun to work together with him, with me doing the coding.

We kept working on the game even after the vacation, and eventually released it!

After this, I felt an itch to try working without a premade game-engine. I started out with Java & Processing.

I made this little demo. All the collision is made from scratch and it was very satisfying to get it to work :)

First game engine

I also played around with making a 3D Game Engine from scratch. For this, I followed ThinMatrix's tutorials on YouTube, which were absolutely awesome. Once again it was really satisfying to make all of this from scratch.

Back to 2D, I made a little platformer with C# and MonoGame.

The really cool part about this project was that I made it so you could load a level from a text file!

In the gif you can see me changing the theme of the level, and changing a whole row to water blocks!

First plateformer in C# and MonoGame

In one of the attempts of going to school for game dev, I made this little game demo for an intake! The theme was 'Snow'.

It was made with C++ and SDL2 in about a week.

I got the sprites from the internet and edited them to fit my game. Even though it's a small demo, I really like how it turned out!

You're a wizard and have to cast a spell on the clouds to drop snow on enemies heading towards your tower. I made a really cool 'optimized' collision system where snow could stack on top of each other :)

First c++ game

First c++ game



And this was pretty recent!

I did get accepted for the college, but didn't end up staying too long. It turned out being too technical and mostly too one-sided for me. It was pure programming. And I like programming, but I'm also in love with all the other aspects of making a game.

I have since decided to work and learn on my own. I'm working on building a following as well. I make posts on different social medias, showing off the current game I'm working on. If people are really interested in me and what I do, they can sign up to my newsletter!

It's quite exciting, and I'm happy something clicked in me: that I could achieve what I want, if I really put my mind to it.

A little before all this, I bought my own boat! with the help of a loan from my wonderful mom :) The boat cost $10k, but needs a bit of work...

I bought a boat

The first thing we did was bring her on land on the shipyard, for a new bottom coat.

My boat in the shipyard

She needs quite a lot of work, but she has a really solid base.

I'm re-doing the entire interior. It was okay the way it was before, but just not the best suited for actually living.

Lente inside boat before re-doing the entire interior

This is me after having stripped the entire place. One not-so-fun suprise was that there was a lot of rainwater on the hull of the boat. But we managed to clean it up, and used oil to prevent any future rust.

Luckily the boat is double plated. Meaning that she basically has a double steel shell! She is 90+ years old, after all.

For reference, this is what the inside looked like before I stripped the place.

Since then, me and my mom have worked on it on the weekends.

This is what she looks like now! The floor is back in place, with proper insulation. It was quite a puzzle, since originally, there wasn't any floor under the seating area that was there.

We made a bed in the front, as this makes for a lot more space. And I painted the ceiling and walls white!

There's a lot more work to be done, to list a few things: heating, bathroom, kitchen and furniture.

But we will manage :) my mom is a great help, she's really good with this stuff and I'm learning a lot!

The goal is to eventually roam around with the boat and make games from wherever :)



That's a short story of my life so far haha! Thank you for reading all the way through!

It hasn't always been smooth sailing, but I'm excited for the future!

- Lente